Posted by on October 10, 2016 3:33 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,
Categories: US News

Propaganda_cover_v8

 Noted Montreal-based author and Foreign Policy critic Yves Engler released his latest book! 

A Propaganda System — How Government, Corporations, Media and Academia Sell War and Exploitation 

A Propaganda System reveals why most Canadians believe their country is a force for good in the world, despite a long history of supporting empire, racism and exploitation. The book details the vast sums Global Affairs Canada, Veterans Affairs and the Department of National Defence spend articulating a one-sided version of Canada’s foreign policy.

With the largest PR machine in the country, the Canadian Forces promotes its worldview through a history department, university, journals, war commemorations, think tanks, academic programs and hundreds of public relations officers.

A Propaganda System traces the long history of government information control during war, including formal censorship, as well as extreme media bias on topics ranging from Haiti to Palestine, investment agreements to the mining industry.

The book also details the corporate elite’s funding for university programs and think tanks.

Written for ordinary Canadians interested in the structures impeding understanding of this country’s role in the world, the book should be of interest to journalists curious about the institutions seeking to “spin” them, development workers dependent on government funds and academics interested in the foreign-policy establishment’s influence on campus.

For more details and updates, please visit yvesengler.com

*     *     *

Book Launch Tour

Tuesday, October 11, 7 pm
Montréal
Concordia University, School of Community and Public Affairs
https://www.facebook.com/events/677601815748854/

Wednesday, October 13, 6 pm
Ottawa
University of Ottawa
85 University, UCU 215D,
https://www.facebook.com/events/279604189104774/ 

Monday, October 17, 5 pm
Montréal
Concordia University, Hall Building
https://www.facebook.com/events/1097568806990704/  

Wednesday, October 19, 7 pm
Hamilton
New Vision United Church 24 Main Street West
https://www.facebook.com/events/165586230557308/

Thursday, October 20 12:30
Hamilton
L8S 4S4, McMaster University Student Centre MUSC 230
http://www.opirg.ca/node/800  

Thursday, October 20, 5:30
Guelph
University of Guelph
https://www.facebook.com/events/333896453625982/  

Friday, October 21, 7 pm
Toronto
Beit Zatoun
http://beitzatoun.org/event/propaganda-system-how-canadas/

Monday, October 24, 2 p.m.
London
University of Western Ontario
Kings College

Tuesday, October 25, 7 p.m.
Windsor
University of Windsor
Oak Room

Wednesday, October 26, 7 pm
Edmonton
Edmonton Clinic Health Academy (ECHA) Room 2-190 (SW corner of 87 Ave & 114 St, U of A Campus)
https://www.facebook.com/groups/supportGPCBDS/595904567248236/ 

Thursday, October 27, 7 p.m.
Calgary
Unitarian Church of Calgary 1703 – 1 Street NW
https://www.facebook.com/events/179044505871750/?active_tab=highlights

Saskatoon, TBA

Tuesday, November 1, TBA
Thunder Bay
Lakehead University

Wednesday, November 2, 7 PM – 9 PM
Winnipeg 

The Hive at the University of Winnipeg

https://www.facebook.com/events/284818511917023/ 

Thursday, November 3, TBA
Regina

Friday, November 4, TBA
Calgary

Saturday, November 5, TBA
Lethbridge

Sunday, November 6, TBA
Nelson

Monday, November 7, TBA
Kelowna

Abbotsford, TBA

Wednesday, November 9, TBA
Vancouver
UBC

Nanaimo, TBA

Monday, November 14, 7 p.m.
Vancouver
SFU Harbour Centre, room 1415

Tuesday, November 15, TBA
Victoria

Wednesday Nov.16, TBA
Victoria

Powell River, TBA

Saturday, November 19, TBA
Vancouver
World Peace Teach in
http://www.peaceforumteachin.org/

Tuesday, November 22, TBA
Ottawa
Octopus Books

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *